Running up the stairs.

Running up the stairs.

When I was 8 years old, running up the stairs at home, I suddenly stopped and looked at the stained glass windows, before sitting down on the stair.

I remember thinking…

‘Most people I know are Catholic. Mammy and Daddy are Catholic. Simon and Jon are Protestant. The Dankers are Jewish. We are all people and have different Gods.’

Before you say this is a simplistic view of things, it is, remember I was 8 at that time.

I then thought to myself,

‘If we all have different religions and pray differently, then which god is the right God?’

It was then I stopped believing with unquestioning faith.

I made my First Holy Communion that year, already an agnostic.

Leave a Reply

